The Special Rapporteur and other special procedures sent a communication to the Government of Senegal concerning the alleged arrest and detention of Ousmane Sonko, Bassirou Diomaye Diakhar Faye, Fadilou Keita, Alioune Ibnou Abatalib Sow, Oumar Diagne, Aboubacar Diamil Sané, Pape Abdoulaye Touré and Abdou Karim Guéye, for exercising their rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and association, as well as freedom of opinion and expression. In addition, some of them were allegedly subjected to torture.

Read AL SEN 1/2024 below.